Home Page
Welcome to our School

The Curriculum for Wales and our new school curriculum


The curriculum - what and how subjects are taught - has undergone a radical overhaul in Wales to prepare today's children for thriving in the future workplace in the digital age. 


Our curriculum overview contains information about the constituent parts of the new Curriculum for Wales and summarises how it will be delivered and interpreted at our school. 


Key Elements of the Curriculum


The Four Purposes:

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society


The New Curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16
  • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.


The New Curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive Arts
  • Health and Well-being
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)
  • Languages, Literacy and Communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)
  • Mathematics and Numeracy
  • Science and Technology (including computer science).